Spaghetti Giraffe and the Egg of CourageSpaghetti Giraffe and the Egg of Courage

Gorgon's heart was heavy as he trudged back down Meringue Hill. He'd wanted to ask Mina Cucina to marry him; more than anything, he'd wanted to do it. Yet he hadn't.

Spaghetti Giraffe sighed. “At this rate, Gorgon will never be brave enough to ask. We must help him find the courage he needs.”

Can courage be grown? Spaghetti Giraffe and the under-cooker animals are on a quest to find out.

But first, they must leave the safety of Mina Cucina's kitchen.

The Spaghetti Giraffe is the first book in a trilogy, with the second book, Spaghetti Giraffe and the Egg of Courage, published in 2019.”

The first book, The Spaghetti Giraffe, received a Storylines Notable Book Award in 2018.

How I wrote the book

When you write a book, the characters become very real for you. Some authors say that the characters ‘get inside their head'.

It's been like that for me with the Spaghetti Giraffe. Everywhere I go, he and his mischievous friends keep sticking their heads up, and saying: Hey, Sarah! What about this? We could do this! We could go there!

Even after the first book was finished, ideas for further adventures with the under-cooker animals kept arriving, so I knew I had to write more.

This is the second book, and is about what happens when the under-cooker animals decide they need to leave Mina Cucina's kitchen for the first time. If they are brave enough, that is! You'll find all your old friends in here, and some new animals too.

Then there's the third book, but that's next year's project!

Read the first two chapters

Read the start of Spaghetti Giraffe and the Egg of Courage

Read the first two chapters of Spaghetti Giraffe and the Egg of Courage, in PDF format.

back to books